Global Poker Awards Will Host Its Second Edition On March 6, 2020

December 5, 2019 December 5, 2019 Paul Butcher
December 5, 2019 by Paul Butcher

GPI: Global Poker AwardsThe second edition of the Global Poker Awards (GPA) is set to take place on March 6, 2020. The awards ceremony will once again be held at the PokerGO Studio which is located at the ARIA Resort & Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada.

The GPA awards ceremony will be streamed live via PokerGO.

The Global Poker Awards is a merger between the American Poker Awards and the European Poker Awards. It recognises poker playing icons, industry professionals and media personalities who have made an impact on the poker community and contributed to the overall growth of the game.

The awarding ceremony is made possible through the combined efforts of the Global Poker Index (GPI) and Poker Central.

GPI President Eric Danis has confirmed that the 2020 ceremony will be an expanded event, with lots of new experiences for those in attendance and the spectators at home. More than 20 awards are up for grabs next year, with some new categories being added, including an award for the Best All-Around Poker Player.

Poker Central President Sampson Simmons was very happy to confirm the second GPA edition stating that the event will be one of the poker community’s biggest nights.

Global Poker Awards 2019 Winners

The inaugural Global Poker Awards held in April, 2019 was a massive success, with poker personalities honoured in a total of 20 categories. John Cynn won the award for Tournament Performance, Ali Imsirovic was recognised as Breakout Player of the Year, while Lex Veldhuis and Andrew Neeme were named Streamer of the Year and Vlogger of the Year respectively.

The award for Podcast of the Year went to The Chip Race Podcast hosted by David Lappin and Dara O-Kearney; Maria Ho won Broadcaster of the year, Sara Herring received the award for Poker Journalist of the Year, while Lance Bradley won Media Content of the Year for his book The Pursuit of Poker Success.

The WSOP Main Event won Event Of The Year; Justin Bonomo received the award for Moment if the Year for his massive victory in the Big One for One Drop and his excellent Super High Roller Streak in 2018; Poker couple Alex Foxen and Kristen Bicknell both won the 2018 GPI Player of the Year (Male and Female categories); Doyle Brunson was given the Award for Lifetime Achievement in Poker.



For more details, check out the official GPA page.

About The Author


Paul Butcher is a works as professor during the day and currently contributes to write articles for during his time off. Visit Paul’s google+ page here