Big One for One Drop Event Returns To WSOP 2018

November 8, 2017 August 2, 2018 Paul Butcher
November 8, 2017 by Paul Butcher

High stakes poker players will be excited to know that the Big One for One Drop event is returning to the 2018 WSOP. This is one of the biggest buy-in for any poker event and has one of the largest pay-outs for the eventual winner.

The event is hosted by the World Series of Poker (WSOP) in partnership with the One Drop Foundation. The seven-figure buy-in event will be held from July 16 to 17, 2018.

The announcement that the Big One for One Drop is coming back for next year’s tournament was made by WSOP Executive Director Ty Stewart before the €111,111 High Roller for One Drop No-Limit Hold'em event commenced on Nov 4 at the WSOPE at the King’s Casino in Rozvadov, Czech Republic.

One Drop

2018’s Big One for One Drop will be the fourth edition of the huge event, which was first organized in 2012. WSOP holds the event in partnership with One Drop foundation, a charity organization created by Cirque du Soleil's founder Guy Laliberté to provide sustainable and clean water to communities around the world who don’t have access to safe and potable water.

Since 2012, over $20 million was raised for the charity and close to $14 million of that money came from Big One for One Drop buy-ins. Players at the 2018 Big One for One Drop will be capped at 48 like the previous edition. The buy-in for this high stakes event will once again be $111,111 and the WSOP has confirmed that it will not collect buy-in fees for this event and will donate the proceeds to the One Drop foundation.

In a statement, Stewart said

I remember in 2012 people said that a $1 million buy-in tournament was crazy. They also then said that you couldn't have 11% juice on a mid-stakes tournament; that's crazy! Or have a $10 million guaranteed One Drop in Rozvadov! For anyone who says that poker players aren't charitable it's just truly amazing. That motivates us that there should be no end in sight

The Big One for One Drop event has so far been held in 2012, 2014 and 2016 and has been won by some of the best poker players in the world. Antonio Esfandiari won the first event in 2012 and took home $18,346,673, Daniel Colman won in 2014 and walked away with $15,306,668, while Elton Tsang won in 2016 and received €11,111,111.

About The Author


Paul Butcher is a works as professor during the day and currently contributes to write articles for during his time off. Visit Paul’s google+ page here