Upeshka De Silva Takes The Lead In 2019 WSOP POY Race

June 21, 2019 June 21, 2019 Paul Butcher https://plus.google.com/116893384630351018637
June 21, 2019 by Paul Butcher
upeshka de silva

After claiming his third bracelet in an online knockout event, along with a third-place win and four more cashes, Upeshka De Silva now sits at No.1 in this year’s World Series of Poker (WSOP) Player of the Year leaderboard.

The player from Texas has taken over the top spot previously occupied by Dan Zack who now closely follows him at No. 2.

De Silva topped a field of 1,224 players, enduring an 11-hour battle to capture Event #38: $600 WSOP.com ONLINE No-Limit Hold’em Knockout Bounty for a total of $100,062.72 in prize money.

Prior to capturing his third gold, De Silva also made the final table of Event $31: $3,000 No-Limit Hold’em Six Handed, finishing third for $172,658.

Did Your Favorite Player Make It to the Top 10?

Zack has slipped down to No.2 but he is less than 20 points behind De Silva. Zack continued to perform well during the third week of the series, cashing in four more events, bringing his total 2019 WSOP cashes to nine.

Moving up to No. 3 is Scott Clements, who took down Event #10: $1,500 Dealer’s Choice last week. From there, he scored three more cashes, including a fourth-place finish in Event $29: $10,000 H.O.R.S.E. Championship won by Greg Mueller.

Robert Campbell is at No. 4. The Australian poker pro bagged his first WSOP bracelet after winning Event #33: $1,500 Limit 2-7 Lowball Triple Draw. Campbell has a total of three cashes so far this summer, all were deep runs. Daniel Strelitz stays at No. 5 after cashing three more times following his first-place victory in Event #11: $5,000 No-Limit Hold’em.

Meanwhile Shaun Deeb who won the 2018 WSOP Player of the Year is still in it for the long haul. Deeb came close to winning his fifth bracelet earlier this week after finishing second to Adam Friedman in Event #35: $10,000 Dealer’s Choice Championship. He already has a total of eight cashes so far this summer, securing enough points to be at No. 6.

The remaining four players completing the Top 10 are all bracelet winners too. Stephen Song (No. 7) snagged his first gold and a top prize of $341,854 in Event #28: $1,000 No-Limit Hold’em. John Gorsuch currently sits at No. 8 and became a first-time bracelet holder after winning Event #19: $1,500 No-Limit Hold’em Millionaire Maker.

Frankie O’Dell captured his third career bracelet in Event #18: $10,000 Omaha Hi-Lo 8 or Better Championship, giving him enough points to be at No. 9, while Yuval Bronshten (No. 10) took down Event #13: $1,500 No-Limit 2-7 Lowball Draw, winning his first bracelet.

About The Author


Paul Butcher is a works as professor during the day and currently contributes to write articles for top10pokerwebsites.net during his time off. Visit Paul’s google+ page here