Phil Ivey & David Ulliott Join Poker Hall of Fame

July 25, 2017 August 1, 2018 Paul Butcher
July 25, 2017 by Paul Butcher

Phil Ivey & David ‘Devilfish’ Ulliott Poker pros Phil Ivey and the late David "Devilfish" Ulliott were inducted into the Poker Hall of Fame (PHoF) last week, joining an elite group which included Daniel Negreanu, Phil Hellmuth and Doyle Brunson.

The 2017 Poker Hall of Fame class was revealed in the midst of the World Series of Poker (WSOP)Main Event final table that was held at Rio All-Suite Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas. The two were voted in by a panel comprising 27 living Hall of Fame members plus 18 media members.

Ivey, acknowledged widely as one of the best ever professional poker players became eligible to be nominated for the Poker Hall of Fame only this year after he turned 40 years old. With over $24 million in live tournament earnings, the 10-time WSOP bracelet winner has long been expected to be named for the honor despite some murmurs about his eligibility.

In a statement Ivey said

want to thank the living members of the Poker Hall of Fame as well as the media who voted for me to be part of the Poker Hall of Fame. It's an honor to be inducted alongside legends like Chip Reese and Doyle Brunson. I love the game of poker and the game has done a lot for me. Thank you to my family, my friends, and all the poker fans across the world that supported me on this journey

He added that he had been lucky to make a living from a game he loved and that he was still as passionate about the game as when he played his first WSOP at the Binion's Horseshoe. British poker pro David “Devilfish” Ulliott passed away in 2015 but his legacy in promoting the game in the country has been honored with his induction into the Poker Hall of fame. A colorful and lively presence at tournaments, Ulliott had won a WSOP gold bracelet and a WPT title. The late British poker pro had won $6.2 million in live tournament earnings.

The Ulliott family released a statement in response to the induction into the PHoF stating that they were proud and delighted to see David take his rightful position in poker history. The family thanked the general public, the current PHoF members and the media for voting for David.

Other finalists for the 2017 Hall of Fame were Matt Savage, Max Pescatori, Ted Forrest, David Chiu, Huck Seed, Mike Matusow and Thor Hansen. These eight nominees will automatically become eligible next year for the PHoF.

About The Author


Paul Butcher is a works as professor during the day and currently contributes to write articles for during his time off. Visit Paul’s google+ page here